Wedding songs

I recently wrote an article about Choosing the Right Wedding Music where I suggested classical songs for your Church wedding. In this post I will give you some ideas about the best Wedding song that are around for your First dance:

The first thing you have to try is to see if there’s a song that it’s special for both of you. Maybe when you met or when your fist kissed a certain song was playing, or maybe in one of your trips together you danced to a very special moment.

If it’s hard to find or remember something like that and nothing comes naturally, then simply listen to a few ideas together and choose a good song you would like to dance to.

Some of the most popular songs for a first dance could be:

  1. ‘Everything’ by Michael Bublé
  2. ‘Let’s stay together’ by Al Green
  3. ‘At Last’ by Etta James
  4. ‘Amazed’ by Lonestar
  5. ‘Make You Feel My Love’ by Adele
  6. ‘Greatest Day’ by Take That
  7. ‘(I’ve had) the time of my life’ by Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes (from Dirty Dancing)
  8. ‘One Day Like This’ by Elbow
  9. ‘Better together’ by Jack Johnson
  10. ‘You’re the first, the last, my everything’ by Barry White

Personally I really like when the couple prepare some sort of funny choreography as a show for their guests. You don’t need to be a professional dancer, just HAVE FUN.

It’s OK to play the song from an mp3 player or ipod, but I always recommend to have a live band or singer to perform it, it’s much better!

Other great First Dance Wedding Songs

‘Can’t take my eyes off you’ by Andy Williams
‘Chasing cars’ by Snow Patrol
‘Let There Be Love’ by Nat King Cole
‘Fly me to the moon’ by Frank Sinatra
‘I’m yours’ by Jason Mraz
‘Stand by me’ by Ben E. King
‘Love is in the air’ by John Paul Young
Happy together’ by The Turtles
‘Baby I Love You’ by The Ramones
‘You’re still the one’ by Shania Twain
‘How sweet it is (to be loved by you)’ by James Taylor
‘Crazy little thing called love’ by Queen
‘I do I do I do I do I do’ by Abba
‘Dancing in the moonlight’ by Toploader
‘As’ by Stevie Wonder
‘Heaven must be missing an angel’ by Tavares
‘The look of love’ by Dusty Springfield
‘She’s the one’ by Robbie Williams
‘That’s amore’ by Dean Martin
‘You never can tell’ Song from Pulp Fiction by Chuck Berry
‘Moondance’ by Van Morrison
‘We have all the time in the world’ by Louis Armstrong
‘Come away with me’ by Norah Jones
‘Something stupid’ by Frank & Nancy Sinatra
‘Fly me to the moon’ by Frank Sinatra
‘Queen of the Slipstream’ by Van Morrison
‘I’ve got you under my skin’ by Frank Sinatra
‘She’ by Elvis Costello
‘You are the sunshine of my life’ by Stevie Wonder
‘Laughter in the Rain’ by Neil Sedaka
‘Unintended’ by Muse
‘Beyond the Sea’ by Bobby Darin
‘How sweet it is (to be loved by you)’ by James Taylor
‘Cheek to cheek’ by Ella Fitzgerald
‘Let There Be Love’ by Nat King Cole
‘(They Long to Be) Close to You’ by The Carpenters
‘Wonder of You’ by Elvis
‘Let’s Face the Music and Dance’ by Nat “King” Cole
‘First Time I Ever Saw Your Face’ by Roberta Flack
‘Wouldn’t It Be Nice’ by Beach Boys
‘Baby I Love You’ by The Ramones
‘You’re the one that I want’ from Grease
‘Something’ by The Beatles
‘Hallelujah I Love Her So’ by Ray Charles
‘Waterloo’ by Abba
‘Groovy kind of Love’ by Phil Collins
‘My baby just cares for me’ by Nina Simone

Share your thoughts!

